“College D.egree” Joey Aich- A New Face In Music

Image

**Link below to College D.egree Sound Cloud

What’s up World!?

Your boy Trae here with another insightful post for the general public!  For the thousands of you that follow me, (jokes) more like hundreds, wanted to tell you a little about me before I dive into today’s topic. I love, love LOVE music.  All types of music: J Cole, John Legend, Luke Bryan to name a few.   While the music I like varies, the common theme for my type of music is “real”. J Cole’s song “Lost Ones” about the controversy of abortions. John Legend talking about love (in like every song), Luke Bryan and beer, all things that relate to me.  Many artist, especially hip-hop artist, claim to “spit that real ish” but that’s not always the case.   Sorry, can’t say I’ve ever killed anyone or sold drugs…just your typical suburbs kid.  So many artists today rap about a lifestyle they either A. don’t have B. had and claim they still have or C. have/had but exaggerate. Take Rick Ross for example, a rapper with a song that goes “Every Day I’m Hustling.”  Ross was a former corrections officer…so there’s that, not much “hustling” there.  Don’t get me wrong! I’ll listen to the garbage of Juicy J and 2 Chainz from to time to time just because the beat is great but when I can listen to a guy who is “real”, talented, and says something that I can relate to it’s REFRESHING.  That’s where my dude Joey Aich (H) comes in.  

The Cleveland native is a sophomore at Denison, and plot twist, he’s a rapper! AND, wait for it…raps about his actual life!  Aich is talented and his lyrics are deep.  Can’t say I’m the biggest rap fan but I can say I’m a fan of his!  His 3rd Mixtape, College D.egree, can relate to any college kid and really grew on me. From the first track “Coffee,” Aich raps about a typical morning at Denison. “Patagonia Vine’s North Face,” can relate to anyone’s crush on campus.  In  “40 0z.” and “Pregame” Aich even talks about the party life (although I didn’t think Denison had parties).  I can stop there! 

Aich is an artist that’s up and coming, one who raps about “real ish”.  Whether you like rap or not, College D.egree is worth listening to.  Check out the link below, till next time world!

 

https://joeyaich.bandcamp.com/album/college-d-egree

 

@joeyaich4

 

 

 

Leave a comment